foreclosure on a US condo

Status
Not open for further replies.

guypea

I am a UK resident who bought a condo in florida in 2006 as an 'investment' (haha, good move huh)
iits now worth just $33,000 (i have a mortgage outstanding of $160,000)
its taken ALL my savings to keep it going, but i now have nothing left.
I have applied to my US mortgage company for ashort sale, but it looks as though they will turn it down.
I need to know what the implications are if i foreclose on my us mortgage to my home and finances in the UK.
my uk home is mortgaged and i have no savings.

I am the General Trustee for a company that sues lenders in foreclosure situations. There are a number of tactics including making the lender produce the original note, which they normally can not do in 40% of the cases. There is a little cost to it (about half the payment) but it will prevent the property from going into foreclosure, cut the principle owed on the property, and possibly allow you to keep the property long enough to have it recoup some of it's losses. We also try to rent it out to people if you are not living there.

If that would help you email me gahousetrust@gmail.com

I am a UK resident who bought a condo in florida in 2006 as an 'investment' (haha, good move huh)
iits now worth just $33,000 (i have a mortgage outstanding of $160,000)
its taken ALL my savings to keep it going, but i now have nothing left.
I have applied to my US mortgage company for ashort sale, but it looks as though they will turn it down.
I need to know what the implications are if i foreclose on my us mortgage to my home and finances in the UK.
my uk home is mortgaged and i have no savings.

Relax in the knowledge that no plaintiff in a US state court can obtain jurisdiction over your assets in the UK easily and cheaply.

I could bore you to death explaining "long arm statutes" and such, but in your case; even if you were served, a US state court's judgment would have little effect in the UK.