First and Last Month's Rent

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjbarnone

Hi all,

I'm in California and here's what's going on. I've been renting a room since September 2009 and will be moving out no later than May 31, 2010. When I first moved in, I gave the landlord/roommate my first and last month's payment on two separate checks. There was no security deposit.

I was paying him monthly usually a week or so before the first being that the checks I have are from out of state. I paid him on April 23 to apply for May's rent. I had been planning on moving out within the next few months, and over the course of the following days, decided May would be my last month.

On April 26 I told him I'd be moving out and that May was my last month. I told him that I'd naturally like to use my last month's rent deposit to pay for May and asked him to either give me my check back, or write me a check back. I can't remember how he put it, but he goes something like, 'oh, ok, well I think we're even right now.' I reminded him that I paid him back when I moved in, and then again the other day. I have the rental agreement, with his handwriting stating first and last due at move-in and have the two check's carbon copies for more proof. On top of that, I printed out his original Craigslist's posting - which states no security deposit. At the end, I handed him a moving out letter and the following day emailed him the same letter.

My question is this, how long does he have to give me my money back. As far as I'm concerned, he's suppose to keep that last month's deposit money in an escrow account and should write me a check back either immediately or within a day or two.

Thanks,
jj

Hi all,

I'm in California and here's what's going on. I've been renting a room since September 2009 and will be moving out no later than May 31, 2010. When I first moved in, I gave the landlord/roommate my first and last month's payment on two separate checks. There was no security deposit.