Final Pay and Penalties

Status
Not open for further replies.

lorilee143

I am a small insurance agent. I hired a girl who did not have an insurance license, but was willing to get it. She did not have the funds ($550) to take classes, pay for licensing or fingerprinting, so I advanced the money on the condition that she has to pay me back if she left me before one year. This was not in writing (my bad). Well, she quit after 3 months and when I deducted $275 as a "return of advance" from her pay, she took me to the labor board. I paid her the $275 prior to our hearing, because I was told that I could take her to small claims court (she also put in a letter to the labor board that she had been told that she would have to pay the money back, but because it wasn't in writing, she didn't feel she had to pay me back).

At our hearing she told the Labor Commissioner that she wants another hearing to see if she can get up to $1400+ in penalties! Doesn't Labor Code 203 say I can avoid penalties because I made a "good faith" effort to pay her??

I am a small insurance agent. I hired a girl who did not have an insurance license, but was willing to get it. She did not have the funds ($550) to take classes, pay for licensing or fingerprinting, so I advanced the money on the condition that she has to pay me back if she left me before one year. This was not in writing (my bad). Well, she quit after 3 months and when I deducted $275 as a "return of advance" from her pay, she took me to the labor board. I paid her the $275 prior to our hearing, because I was told that I could take her to small claims court (she also put in a letter to the labor board that she had been told that she would have to pay the money back, but because it wasn't in writing, she didn't feel she had to pay me back).