energy tax cridit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpbarber

Jurisdiction
Michigan
I am currently a resident of South Carolina. If I meet the "number of days" requirement (and obtain a Michigan driver licensed, etc.) to become a Michigan resident, can I then file my Federal Tax Return and claim the energy tax credit for the solar system I am having installed on my home in Michigan? I am currently a resident of South Carolina. I am retired. I am over 65.

You seek a dentist to address your dental problems.
You take your pet to a vet.
You consult a physician if you become ill.
You have a tax concern, which is best addressed by a CPA, the IRS, or a tax attorney (who'll be far more expensive than a CPA).

The answer to your question is too complex and important for strangers over the Internet.

You seek a dentist to address your dental problems.
You take your pet to a vet.
You consult a physician if you become ill.
You have a tax concern, which is best addressed by a CPA, the IRS, or a tax attorney (who'll be far more expensive than a CPA).

The answer to your question is too complex and important for strangers over the Internet.
Very true however, I have had such great results from this site, I always research the answers I get here and it isn't cheap with a CPA, almost impossible to get anyone on the phone at the IRS and a tax attorney is way to expensive for me. BTW, my dental problems, my pet health and my personal health risk factors are completely different issues than my taxes.

Thank you for your advise.

it isn't cheap with a CPA,

Well, it could be a lot more expensive if you take the credit in error.

What I just read on the IRS website leads me to believe that the residency gimmick isn't going to work if the South Carolina home is your "main home" while this installation is happening in Michigan.

You really do need to consult a tax pro before you do something that will cost you even more in penalties.