Employer Wrongfully Withholding Paycheck

Status
Not open for further replies.

Li1981

I was hired by someone who operates a small early childhood education program to work once a week on Saturdays. I'm from China and was employed to teach young children Chinese language and music. I worked for the employer on the first Saturday, but afterwards I realized for several personal reasons that I really couldn't keep doing this job--the main reason is, I'm a new driver and going on the highway was very dangerous for me...going by highway takes about 20 minutes and on the local roads without the highway take 45 minutes to an hour.

Initially, I had signed a very brief contract. The only provision on the contract was that the employer and employee were required to notify each other 14 days in advance if they wished to terminate the employment. After the first Saturday, I informed my employer immediately that I wouldn't be continuing. This was 7 days in advance, and told her that I would help her find another person to replace myself as a teacher. I wrote her about three or four emails to apologize and tell her I would find a replacement but she never replied to me. Later, I encountered her in person because we are taking the same class together. First I apologized and then told her that my friend would take the job and asked about my paycheck. But, my former employer informed "I may not be able to pay you, since I may incur a loss." Thus, I believe the employer had no loss because I found a replacement teacher immediately, and no parents withdrew their children from the class.

I found a friend to replace me as a teacher; my friend worked once and then quit because her husband wanted them to have more time together. After my friend quit, the former employer didn't pay her either.