H Visa Employer sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lerouge123

Hi,
My employer sponsored me for a greencard. My I140, parole and work permit have all been approved. My 485 is in Abeyance!. My question is with employment class the lawyer put me in. It is the category 3. I would not care were it not for the fact that cat 2 is current in visa numbers.
I did the labor certification and the employer advertised a job description etc...
I have a master's degree and more than 12 years experience in Engineering.
When I asked the lawyer why he did not put me in category 2, he said the job description did not ask for a master's only a bachelor's and 4 years experience.
I have not gone back to him yet but when I researched a bit the DOL says that the job description must not be restrictive such as asking for foreign languages etc.
Also on the INS site the categories are defined in terms of individuals not jobs!
I am questioning basically his answer. The job description being what it is, that does not change the fact that I do have a master's degree. Is it required that the job must have required a master's for me to be sponsored as a category 2 or can the employer advertise and try to fill the job with lower requirements(cat 3) and fail then higher me and sponsor me as cat 2?
Process questions: Where does the category actually get determined: at the labor certification time or after that when I file for the I140 and I485?
Now having been processed as a Cat 3, is there a process whereby the lawyer can file an amendment to change my case to a cat 2 if is a possibility?

Thanks
Lerouge

lerouge123 said:
Hi,
My employer sponsored me for a greencard. My I140, parole and work permit have all been approved. My 485 is in Abeyance!. My question is with employment class the lawyer put me in. It is the category 3. I would not care were it not for the fact that cat 2 is current in visa numbers.
I did the labor certification and the employer advertised a job description etc...