Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Employee Theft under 5000

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaedis

I'm in a huge bind. Two days ago I got fired because for around 3 months I've been swiping cash from a till where I worked as a delicatessen clerk. When I was caught, LP confronted me and told me they would not press charges or call police-- they simply told me that the cash that went missing during my work shifts amounted to 800. I reasoned with them and we came up to a sum of 460 instead. The LP made me sign a form that promised I would return the 460 over the course of 10 months.

Then, the LP's boss told him he had to call the police and I was arrested. I was released relatively quickly under promise to appear in court, and my appearance is scheduled for January.

I am 19, a university student, this is my first offence and I hadn't known the heavy consequences of breaching a position of trust. I am alone on this and my parents will kick me out of the house if they know! I really don't want to go to jail, I regret what I did, and I really am willing to take responsibility! I've got my eyes set on applying for diversion (in British Columbia), should I seek the help of legal representation? Such as duty counsel since I cannot afford a lawyer? Please, any advice;;

I've looked into my options for legal representation... So far by the looks of it, I think the best I have right now is a society situated in my university that may be able to get a law student to represent me.

Are my chances for diversion quite low?

It depends on the criteria for Diversion there. This is US based site so its difficult to answer. Youmight also seek consultatioins with Attorneys and ask questions. Many (here at least) offer free consultations. It would b ein your best interest to get as many as possible and arm yourself with knowledge. This is especially true since your seeking legal help from students who probably cannot represent you in court