Elimination of parking spaces in front of my duplex

Status
Not open for further replies.

bose1954

Hello,
This is my first time using The Law.com. I hope I am doing everything correctly.

I live in Stephenson County, in Illinois. I own a duplex that is on Highway 20. My problem is this. The State of Illinois decided to widen the highway and when they did that they eliminated the parking spaces in front of my property. I relied on those spaces. There is nowhere nearby to park. They have eliminated the parking the south side of the street. My duplex is on the south side of the street. Previously, there was no parking allowed on the north side of the street.

By eliminating the parking spaces, my duplex no longer has adequate parking. Property with adequate parking is more valuable than property without adequate parking. By eliminating the parking spaces, the State has caused me to suffer a loss in the value of my property. This case is now pending and is set for pre-trial hear on June 28th, 2001. I have an appraisal showing a loss in value of $6000.00 . The State file a Motion in Limine to keep me from being able to use the appraisal in a jury trial.
It is going to be my argument that the appraisal is necessary to show that there has been a damage to my property in the first place. The State cited several cases as case law to back up their position.
I need to know how to look up the cases cited by the State so that I can read through them and see if they are really lilke my case or if there are differences that may cause them to be irrelevant.
Please let me know what you think about this and if you know how I can find those cases. My e-mail address is bose1954@yahoo.com

Thank you for your help,
Sincerely,
bose1954