Education Question: Can I sue my college for negligence?

Katherine Heffe

Jurisdiction
Delaware
Hello,

This is probably a very silly question, but I wanted to know.

I am a summer graduate taking my last elective- a class outside of my college or major, but stated it was geared specifically towards non-majors.

In the beginning of Spring semester 2017, I had a family emergency and domestic violence incident documented with my school, along with an official note from my dr about exploring a c-ptsd diagnosis for me, which asked for the school to provide support in conjunction with medical treatment. I tried many times to get set up with in-school counseling, but the school either didn't respond or gave me references for outside places, despite me begging that I needed help in school now and did not have the resources to utilize any outside institutions (no money, no insurance). I documented my condition with the school and received disability-support accommodations for test-taking.

This summer I am in a class that has online proctoring from an outside company. It has been a nightmare, I've had a really awful experience with the service (they took control of my mouse and keyboard to navigate to the exam, and my browser froze and they refused to let me take my exam on another browser or computer, as an example). I emailed the professor seven times for help before he responded, which was after the exam for which I was seeking help. I reached out repeatedly to the online courses department and asked if I could utilize another service and for tips, help, my concerns, etc.. No one helped me or addressed my concerns. I told both the professor and online services that I was a student who received accommodations for a disability, but I still didn't get help. I've emailed both multiple times.