Weapons, Guns, Firearms Do I have the Right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

comu3

Hello all,
In 2004 I was charged with attempted purchase of cocain in FL. A felony charge, my first offense , and adjudication of guilt was witheld. Upon succesfully completing my probation with no VOPs, I was told by the FDOC to contact the FDLE concerning my gun rigths, also telling me that my civil rights were never taken. The FDLE told me that I had to wait 3 years after fulfilling my sentence requirements to purchase or own a firearm.
Well I still have one year four months to go on that (cool down period).
Since then I have become a GA resident. GA law statutes state roughly that pertain to the same scenario allow for a person to purchase firearms once the sentence of probation has been fulfilled in the same way that I did in FL.
My question is, now that I am a Georgia resident, do I have the right to own or purchase a firearm, I am not allowed in Fl, but I don't live there anymore.
I am not looking for imformation on a Geaorgia Firearm License, I am not eligible due to the fact that my charge was drug related. I simply want to know if I am legaly allowed to purchase a firearm in GA.

I would not attempt to buy a firearm while you are under an pending sentence. If you do, you could ruin the whole thing. Got someone you are anxious to shoot?

Correction

I would not attempt to buy a firearm while you are under an pending sentence. If you do, you could ruin the whole thing. Got someone you are anxious to shoot?

Perhaps I was not clear enough for you in my post. I have no pending sentence. I have completed probation. The three year period that I am refering to ( a differal period, also known as a cooldown period) is for the purchase of firearms only, and a statute implied by the FDLE General counsel.I no longer live there, now I live in GA.