Dispute over Moms inheritance promise.

Nimbex

Jurisdiction
Texas
when my mother passed away her assets were liquidated and distributed among my siblings, but because of my health she kept most of my portion with my brother who was to make a monthly deposit lasting until I reach the age of 65, a little under 5 years from now.

I'm being negatively impacted by the rising interests rates and I asked my brother to put the majority of the money in the stock market. Mainly in one specific stock I've been researching for several years and I know as certain as can be known in the market the stock price will increase.

My brother claims it goes against his promise to my mother to make the money last until I could get SS at 65. Don't know if it's relevant, but mother was in Florida, I'm in Texas and my brother in Colorado. Can I somehow get most of the money invested in stocks or get the funds myself.

I don't know the reason why my mother chose this method, but the resentment I sense from my brother is strong because I was just told she gave me a larger portion of the inheritance. I can only guess it's because of my multiple health issues.

when my mother passed away her assets were liquidated and distributed among my siblings, but because of my health she kept most of my portion with my brother who was to make a monthly deposit lasting until I reach the age of 65, a little under 5 years from now.

What does the highlighted mean? Did your mother have a will? If so, did the will create a testamentary trust whereby your share of the inheritance was given to your brother to hold in trust for your benefit? Where or with whom is he supposed to make these monthly deposits?

I'm being negatively impacted by the rising interests rates

How so?

I asked my brother to put the majority of the money in the stock market.

If your mother had a will that created a testamentary trust, does the trust give you the right to dictate what your brother does with it in his capacity as trustee?