1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

Dismiss Notice

DISCOVERY: RFP & Deposition

Discussion in 'Professional, Medical Malpractice' started by Justice1, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Justice1

Justice1 Law Topic Starter New Member

Jurisdiction:
    South Carolina
    Subpoena VS RFP
    I am a pro se plaintiff in a med mal with 3 Defendants nurse(that committed negligence) doctor and the healthcare institution. All has gone very well and we are now a few months into discovery. We have both exchanged one set of interrogatories & responded (mine to nurse) and a couple of depositions have been scheduled. 2 weeks ago I sent off interrogatories & RFP to the healthcare institution and the doctor. I have requested the pertinent patient records for "same procedure" within a few years from the incident. along with billing information, Is RFP good enough or should I send a subpoena too?

In discovery it has been disclosed the nurse has multiple problems that may have impeded her duties, she lost license prior due to alcohol dependence, has diagnosed with anxiety, depression and is on medication, has a DUI about a year after the incident. Should I subpoena her mental health records? I am think she may have a problem with hurting people & other issues that are related to this case also I am appalled that the doctor and healthcare institute let her practice with all her problems and plan on seeking more damages from them now that I am learning more of the high risk this nurse is to all her patients, evident in what she did to me. Is there a measure of Vicariously liability other than the 350 per defendant non economic cap?

2. adjusterjack

adjusterjack Super Moderator

Yep, it's easy to be pro se... Until it isn't.