Conspiring/Harassing co-worker

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scigirl

I recently transferred to another department, and am having a difficult time with a co-worker. It was mentioned to me by another employee prior to me taking the new position that if I took that position, she would do everything in her power to get me fired and that I wouldn't be there long (I have this in writing). I didn't use this is a deterrent, but in fact spoke with my supervisor before I signed for this position to see if I had anything to be concerned about (She told me "absolutely not, she has no authority over you.")

Since I transferred, she has been spreading rumors about me to my co-workers (telling them things that I never said, for example). She has also made numerous slurs. For example, I work in the medical field. I had a co-worker ask me a question - he wanted to know if I had ever heard of Marinol. I replied "Yes, that is the tablet form of Marijuana." He said "Well then why would this patient be inquiring about a THC level?" I replied "Because that's the chemical name for this drug." He said "Oh, I should know that." The co-worker I am having a problem with stated "Well, the reason we probably don't know what it is, is because we don't smoke marijuana!" (The whole time she was shaking her head toward me and rolling her eyes, implying that I do). I was very bothered by this.