Consumer Law, Warranties College Student Being Sued By Roommate For Rent, No Lease!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tumd211

My jurisdiction is: Maryland

I am a full-time college student in Maryland, and I was living in a townhouse with two other women. I moved in towards the end of August 2008 and I was told by my friend at the time (she was also one of my roommates) that the lease was going to renew on September 1st, and that I would have to sign it in order to live there. I never agreed to sign or not sign the lease (but I guess because I moved in, it would have been safe for them to assume I would be signing the lease). I made both of my roommates aware that I would be moving out at the end of the academic year, which would be May 2009, and would try to find someone to sublet my room.
Over the course of the next two months, my experience living there turned downhill....here is a list of all of the reasons why I moved out.

- I was told that the lease would renew on Sept. 1st, 2008. About one month after moving in, I found out that the lease was actually going to renew on November 1, 2008. I bugeted my fianancial aid to cover rent from Sept. 1 til May 1st, so it would be impossible for me to stay from November 2008 to november 2009 because I didnt have enough financial aid.

- Roommate #2 smoked marijuana in the house constantly

- Roommate #2 gave a key to the house to her drug dealing boyfriend without telling me or asking me if it was okay

- Roommate #1 has a violent boyfriend whom I witnessed hit her in the face

- Roommate #1 would often complained about the landlord (after I moved in) saying how she was not a good landlord and never picked up rent on time, or made an effort to return her calls promptly when there was an issue at the house