Civil claim

Sharjeel10

Jurisdiction
New York
I was given a civil claim for shoplifting at my place of employment. The cops were not called and the estimated loss to my knowledge, was about $500. I got a letter from the firm palmer, reifled saying i owe the company in losses of $5000. I was ready to pay my dues but im a full time student and the money there asking me to pay is outmost outrageous. I was not given a court order nor any police called nor arrested, none of it at all and now im in a stuck position as i dont know what to do. Any suggestions as should i hire a debt consolidator or just simply ignore the letter?

I am a Retail Theft Consultant and answer questions like yours daily. Your employer has chosen a "Civil" solution this is commonly called "Civil Demand" (see links below) The Law firm you name can be VERY aggressive at seeking these funds and the consequences for not paying can be long term and severe (again see below) including filing of criminal charges. Many will say dont pay but again they may or may not choose to use any or all of the options available by law to them to seek these funds and P &R is known to use them. My advice to all my clients is pay but thats your call. The request is legal and should not be ignored in my view.

A recent writing of mine - Parent Nook Forums

Civil Recovery

I am a Retail Theft Consultant and answer questions like yours daily. Your employer has chosen a "Civil" solution this is commonly called "Civil Demand" (see links below) The Law firm you name can be VERY aggressive at seeking these funds and the consequences for not paying can be long term and severe (again see below) including filing of criminal charges. Many will say dont pay but again they may or may not choose to use any or all of the options available by law to them to seek these funds and P &R is known to use them. My advice to all my clients is pay but thats your call. The request is legal and should not be ignored in my view.