Cited for Careless Driving in Florida, but I Am an Ohio Driver. Can I Take the Education class?

ctsvcoupe

Jurisdiction
Florida
My question involves a traffic ticket from the state of: Florida

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I got cited for careless driving while I was on vacation in Florida. Was going quite fast, and the cop was in the opposite lane. Then he got behind me, and I may have peeled the tires a little bit when taking off.

I assume even though I have an ohio drivers license, that the points will go on that and my insurance will find out if I waive it and pay, correct? Should I go back to florida and fight it? I see if you take a driver education class, they will withhold the adjudication and the points... but does that work if I have an ohio drivers license? What should I Do?

Yes it will take points off if it gets reported to Ohio.

If you can take diversion or a driver class that gets rid of the ticket then do it. If you were just visiting Florida you can maybe do it in Ohio. I don't feel like searching it for you. You obviously have the Internet.

I don't see why you would have to "fight it" if you can do a class.

I was stationed in Kansas but I had a Nebraska license. I got pulled over for speeding after leaving base to go home. I thought the speed limit was 55 and I was going 57. I'm an idiot. It was 40. I was distracted with thoughts and obviously didn't see the sign that it changed. The cop tells me and he comes back with a ticket for going 17 over.

I went to the courthouse in my town in Kansas. I was able to diversion and it never got reported to Nebraska so I didn't lose points. 200 + the ticket fee. As long as I didn't get in trouble in the next six months after it never happened.

So yes you can get diversion if you have an out of state license but I was living there at the time not visiting.