Case RE: Competing Partner, Client Solicitation, Breach of Contract, Insurance Claims and more

fairytalesrcute

Jurisdiction
California
I really hope that someone can help guide me in the right direction on this because I feel like my current attorney and insurance broker have failed me. I need guidance on if I should keep my current counsel or fire them and sue them and the insurance broker. I also need help navigating this whole thing because I am not a legal expert but I feel things have not been handled correctly by the attorney, even on a strategy level.

I own a business 50-50 with a partner that started up a competing company and solicited and moved the clients he was directly servicing over to his new entity back in 2018. During the solicitation none of them contacted me, and he made incorrect slanderous statements about me and why he needed to part ways. The reality was he asked to separate months prior but didn't like the terms that I had the attorney draft up, which I think was fair. Instead of negotiating he concocted a plan to steal the clients and leave when I was 38 weeks pregnant. That triggered liquidated damages clauses in my contract with the clients, which I paid as I believe the contract permitted me to do - they disagree. They hired him on or before July 24, 2018, the letter was later digitally edited to reflect a date of July 31, 2018 according to the metadata of the letters. He tendered his resignation and the client termination letters on August 1,2018. August I filed insurance claims against the Clients policies for both the CGL and D&O - all denied. They afterwards filed against their fidelity bond - denied. I don't believe the clients read the contract before hiring him otherwise they would have known or would have reasonably known what would be triggered. He told them that he had an attorney guiding him every step of the way and they trusted that advice instead of getting their own opinion.