Car Dealership Registration

TOOMANYPROB

Jurisdiction
Illinois
I am a NM resident, purchased a vehicle in Chicago. Dealership said they would take care of registration, I knew the process NM requires to obtain registration as I had purchased a vehicle the prior year from out of state, and they still assured me they would take care of everything. Was issued a 90 day temp tag. I keep the car in NV as I travel back and forth. I picked up the car in Chicago and drove back to NM. (had problems along the way with car but that's another story). The car was in NM for a few days prior to driving car to NV. About 2 months after the purchase I receive an email saying I need to get a VIN Inspection as required by the State of NM, I was mad because they said they would take care of the registration so I believe they should of had the VIN Inspection done prior to me picking up the car. I contacted Nevada Highway patrol as the VIN inspection has to be done by a law enforcement officer. NM requires the officer to email info to them for a prefilled out form for them to use on the inspection, the officer I spoke to said they will not email back and forth with the State of NM for some form that if I bring the form NM uses they would fill it out. I then contacted the state of NM and they would not give a form to anyone but it had to be prefilled out and sent to a law enforcement officer. I then contacted the dealership to let them know. I feel like I paid them to register the car and here I am having to do it myself. I live the majority of the time in NM. So I had to have a friend drive the car all the way to NM over 800 miles one way to get a VIN Inspection in NM as the car had to be present. My temp tag expires in 5 days and I will not have the registration by then. This is not the state of NM fault. It is the dealerships fault. Now I will not be able to legally drive the car after my temp tag expires. just looking as to what I should do cause I am paying for a car I cannot drive be