Can you sue a CUNY

Status
Not open for further replies.

anddreaM

This may seem silly but I attend a New York City College and Im graduating with my bachelors in May 2010. I was informed that I couldnt graduate magna cum laude because Im a transfer student and I would have needed to take 54 credits in cuny (I only have 44) to be eligible to graduate with honors. My question is it possible to sue the city or cuny to have this rule abolished?

No. You can't. The school has a right to set their own rules.

This may seem silly but I attend a New York City College and Im graduating with my bachelors in May 2010. I was informed that I couldnt graduate magna cum laude because Im a transfer student and I would have needed to take 54 credits in cuny (I only have 44) to be eligible to graduate with honors. My question is it possible to sue the city or cuny to have this rule abolished?

I don't mean to sound rude but...

...what on earth makes you think the school can't set its own rules or that YOU can decide the school's graduation requirements?!

Apparently Im nobody, but I feel if you work hard for something, you deserve it. Its not being handed to you on a silver platter its something you worked hard for. So why should they be able to tell you you can't have it, not because you didnt work for it, and not because you dont deserve it because what they werent my first choice of schools, or because they want me to waste my time taking unnecessary courses paying them extra money

Apparently Im nobody, but I feel if you work hard for something, you deserve it. Its not being handed to you on a silver platter its something you worked hard for. So why should they be able to tell you you can't have it, not because you didnt work for it, and not because you dont deserve it because what they werent my first choice of schools, or because they want me to waste my time taking unnecessary courses paying them extra money

Because they require 54 credits from you and you only have 44.