Property Invasion, Damages, Trespass can marker at bus stop be used as evidence??

Status
Not open for further replies.

tierza

my bf was on his way home from work at 4.30 in the morning..
he was at the bus stop and got up and walked towards the street to see if the bus was coming since the street is curved and noticed that an undercover cop was at the light and stayed there even though two or three green lights passed..
he goes back to the bus stop and sits down and the cop goes on the green but does a u-turn and goes to where my bf was sitting..
he gets out the car and asks him how he was doing and then asks him to stand up as he is being arrested..
my bf asks for what and the uc just answers youre being arrested..
he searches him and is now using my messenger bag which was in his possession as evidence..
theyre calling it a tagging bag bcuz it had dried acrylic paint on it
(i am an artist and like i said bfore its my bag and i usually use it for my ink supplies)
and his wallet is also being used as evidence even though it just has his writing on it saying his name

as they searched the area they at first didnt find anything but then suddenly found a marker..

he is now facing charges of felony vandalism..

can that marker be used against him even tho it wasnt in his possesion at the time of the arrest??

and if not should the bag and wallet be enough evidence against him for the case to stick??

Yes, the marker can be used as evidence against him. It will be up to a jury to weigh the value of that evidence.
I understand what you are saying about your bag, but the fact is that you are not the one that was carrying it... he was. The contents of the bag apparently were seen as vandalism tools.
If his wallet or the bag had markings on it that are similar to any graffiti then yes, they can hold those as evidence to show the similarities in the writing and style... especially if the same type of writing was found at the bus stop where he was arrested.