Can I win this dispute with my teacher?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinapn

This may seem insignificant compared to the other situations posted on this forum but it is very serious to me. I am a sophomore in high school.

I was caught cheating on a final back in May. I put a program on my calculator to help me save time on the test. Another student turned me in a couple days after the test. I was called down to the Dean's Office and the information I gave them was:
-I had the program for one month
-names of 5 people I shared it with
The consequences were:
-a zero on the final + recalculation of the month's tests
-suspension (which is recorded on my transcript as "Cheating")

One week later I wrote a letter and personally read it to the Dean expressing myself and begging him just to not record it on my transcript, as that would ruin any hope of a respectable college. Surprisingly he was kind enough to do just that and I thought I had peace of mind until I saw the final grades posted a few days after that. I had gone from an A- to a C+.

Now I had looked back at May's tests and there was only one other than the final. There is no possible way I could have used the program on that test. Even the teacher agrees with me on that. But she still gave me a zero for it since I said I had the program for one month. This is not a satisfactory answer because...