Breaking lease under nuisance

Status
Not open for further replies.

suesong

Hello,

I first made an agreement with a former landlord family about one year ago, however, the former landlor moved out and told us the new landlord family is a quite family made up of 2 highschool children with a signle mom. Since I was 17 at that time, my mom extended our lease over the phone without a chance to actually see the new landlord family.

After the new landlord family moved in, it turned out the new landlord was not a single mom (had a husband) and had three children, 1,5,10-year-olds.

At first I thought all the noises those children generated (running, screaming, crying, etc) were because they are not used to the new environment, so I just didnt complain. However, the nosie they made became worse to the extent where my life cycle was disturbed. I am a student so I study at home (the advantage of living alone) but with those children running and crying, it was very hard, if not impossible, to study. My misery did not end there; I could not sleep and was often waken by these children in the middle of night. I started taking sleeping pills after consulted with my doctor. During my exam periods, I actually asked my landlord if she could tell children to run less (I couldnt complain about crying because I knew it was not something they could control but I thought running was controllable) at least during my exam period. She just said okay but the children ran more. I was VERY annoyed but couldnt do anything because my parents were not with me so there was nothing I could do.