breach of contract (via sale misrepresentation)

Status
Not open for further replies.

hypntyz

Background: I run a small business in TN building mazda rotary engines, a unique engine different from those in 99% of other cars on the road. There are several "generations" and "versions" of engines and engine parts that vary by year and model. There is no training or certification in this niche field, most builders are self taught via race experience or personal mechanical experience, including myself. I have been building engines for the public since 2001, and have built about 250 documented engines, all with a great reputation online.

In 6/06 I sold an engine to a buyer in OK. This was an engine I had built for my own use several months prior, but did not use it. This engine was sold for use in 93-95 models. IT was a complete "longblock" with all the external accessories (alternator, intake manifolds, wiring, etc.). I had built the block (shortblock) from a mix of used and new parts as is customary with these engines. IT was advertised on an internet rotary forum which is how the deal was facilitated.

Here's the tricky part. When I built this for my own use, I used 2 parts (of the block) from a different "version" of rotary engine, while the rest were actually of this "version". The 2 parts that I substituted are basically equivalent to what would have come stock in this engine, except for 2 small sleeves which were modified for use in this engine. This forum database deletes content every few months, so I no longer have access to the original ad or how exactly the engine/sale was worded, but basically this was not disclosed as part of the sale. Honestly enough time had passed since I built it (for my own use) that I forgot all about the substitution when I sold it. Nevertheless, the substitution would have NO EFFECT on how the engine runs, performs, etc.