Starting a Business Being sued by investors without a written contract

Status
Not open for further replies.

antonio

I developed a product and was searching for investors because I could not afford it obviously. A Doctor who I work with offered to fund it along with a second investor friend of his. The first meeting took place on June 4, 2013 in which I presented a mock up of my product to these two investors. I have no knowledge of the cost to bring this to market and I had heard it would be about 100k. I mentioned this to the two of them and they chuckled and said it could run up to 1.5 to 2 million. One of the investor said he was not worried about the money and he could fund it, he was more concerned about the product working. Since he said he would fund the money I offered 60%, the two investors said they would think about it. Shortly after, the doctor I work with said they were in and they would establish a business name other than the product name and open a bank account. So I began to look for manufacturers and patent attorneys. The invoices started to flow in and I would forward those to the Doctor/investor. We had reached approximately 15k when I handed a subsequent invoice to the investor and he asked how much was the total spent thus far. I told him it was close to 15k. He stated that he only intended to invest 10k along with the other investor/friend a total of 20k combined. I told him that I would not give 60% for 20k. He became aggressive and told me that I had agreed to that during the meeting. The other investor was not engaged at all and was not responding to my messages or calls. It then escalated to threats of suing me and taking the patent away since they payed for it. During this time ( a period of 3 months) of going back and fourth, other invoices were piling up and I acquired a third investor. This really upset the Doctor/investor I work with and confronted me about acquiring this new investor. I told him the reason was because they had cha