Basement rental

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctanke

Hi,

My boyfriend and I have been renting a basement of a house in Calfornia for about a 1 1/2 years with no problems. Someone recently told the city that the basement was being used as a room for rent. The city came to the house yesterday entered the room without our permission and told my boyfriend that the room isn't up to code(they said that an extension cord I have going into the room is what made it not up to code) and that we had to move out of it by this Friday. They claim that they will be coming back on Friday to make sure we are out of the room. Can they do this or do they have to give us(or the landlord) the opportinuty to bring it up to code? The police have been to the house I live in several times (for another renter that lives there) and know that I rent the basement. They have never stated that it's not legal for me to live there. Any information/weblinks you can provide me with is appreciated!!

:eek:)
Carrie

You don't have to go anywhere. If they want you out they will have to evict you, condemn the house, or do something far more than asking nicely.
Correct the issue with the cord. When they come back there will no longer be a violation (assuming that was the only issue) and they won't have any argument to make. In fact, if they come back, you are under no obligation to even allow them into the house. I suspect there is something more going on that brought them there in the first place though.

Who allowed them into your room? You need to have a talk with that person...