Assaulted by coworker, coworker not fired. How do I proceed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnT

Banned
I posted this in another forum and it was banned, I suppose due to language in quotes. Read at your own risk, it's pretty lengthy. Here is the repost (edited) and additional info:

9/3 I'm a nurse and work for a small non profit hospice unit inside a major hospital. A couple of days ago a coworker assaulted me in a patient's bathroom because she overheard me talking to another nurse about a bizarre incident that occurred with the coworker. The nurse to whom I was speaking overheard the commotion and wanted to know what happened, was concerned. This nurse (my superior) was second in command because the charge nurse was unavailable. There were only three nurses working that day. The coworker burst in and blocked the doorway, began threatening to physically harm me, pointing her finger in my face almost touching me, at most a cm from me (later she said "but I wasn't actually touching you") and slapping my hand away when I raised it to protect my eyes, grabbing me by the arm and forcing me against the wall where I was trapped with the toilet on one side and the shower stall on the other. She continually said "just give me a reason to kick your a**, go on and touch me so I can kick your a **" "You people are gonna me go off and do something" and the like. She grabbed my arm and pushed me to the wall behind me as she was threatening and putting her finger in my face I was only able to stand there and wait for her to stop because if I tried to defend myself or even get past her to escape, she would have pummeled me, per her threats. I know she was trying to get me to touch her so she could have "grounds" to hit me. I was scared out of my mind and felt like an animal was about to attack. I was imagining horrible things she might do and two days later, I am still feeling freaked out, and panicked at the idea of working with her. I had the first anxiety attack of m