Applying for Naturalization/Citizenship

Status
Not open for further replies.

Umair

Jurisdiction
Texas
Hello, I am currently a permanent resident of the United States. My question is when will I be eligible to apply for U.S Passport?

Here is some background. I got B1/B2 in January 2017. I visited the U.S in march and went back in May. I got married in January 2018 and came to the U.S for the second time. My husband applied for the adjustments of status and stayed in the U.S until I got my green card which I got in February 2021. I went out of the US in November 2021 for 3 weeks.
The interviewer at my immigration interview mentioned that I will be eligible for the passport in 1 year (2022) as I have stayed in the US for more than 3 years at one time. My question is when can I apply for the passport? If I apply for the Passport now ( May 2022), when can I expect to receive the passport?

. My question is when will I be eligible to apply for U.S Passport?

Ask the officials at USCIS.

Internet entities can't provide accurate processing times for OFFICIALS of the US Government.

Processing Times

Check Processing Times | USCIS

Processing Times

USCIS Processing Times for Common Immigration Documents

I went out of the US in November 2021 for 3 weeks.
The interviewer at my immigration interview mentioned that I will be eligible for the passport in 1 year (2022) as I have stayed in the US for more than 3 years at one time

Read what you posted carefully.

You admit to leaving the safety of the USA in November of 21.

By your own admission, you chose to absent yourself eight months ago for three weeks in November.

Ask the immigration officials, not strangers and internet dummies, like me!!!

You have to be a US citizen or US National in order to obtain a US passport.