Any Ownership Rights?

Status
Not open for further replies.

poster100

I know this will sound stupid, but I trusted this person completely--this is someone I was with for 15 years. I gave my boyfriend $20k during a time he had an offer on a house thinking it would be "our" house. i had a blemish on my credit at the time, so he was going to do the financing. This house fell through due to foundation problems, so I told him to keep the money till we found a house. he invested the money in the meantime. I found a house a few months later and he bought it. I have been helping (so I thought) pay the mortgage for the past 5 years and now he has thrown me out acting as if i was just a tenant. He now has the house up for sale. Is their any hope of asserting any ownership rights? If so, what should I do?

mom4kittys said:
I know this will sound stupid, but I trusted this person completely--this is someone I was with for 15 years. I gave my boyfriend $20k during a time he had an offer on a house thinking it would be "our" house. i had a blemish on my credit at the time, so he was going to do the financing. This house fell through due to foundation problems, so I told him to keep the money till we found a house. he invested the money in the meantime. I found a house a few months later and he bought it. I have been helping (so I thought) pay the mortgage for the past 5 years and now he has thrown me out acting as if i was just a tenant. He now has the house up for sale. Is their any hope of asserting any ownership rights? If so, what should I do?
I'm sorry to hear about your problem. The most important question: Were you a party to the transaction? I'm guessing you were not and that your ex used your money as if it were his own.