Another Trial Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmithofSC

My jurisdiction is: South Carolina

I am a pro se litigant. Can an affidavit previously filed with the court by me on a summary judgment motion, and is in the court records, be introduced into evidence when I am testifying on the stand? I would like to get it into the hands of the jury.

Last edited:
No Lawyer

Simply put, I haven't found one I could afford. I am an older person and I am aware that the SC Judicial system is probably the worst run in the country. I knew going in that my only chance would be by getting to a jury. We were conned by dishonest builders with the help of their attorney. Our evidence is good enough to win before a jury but I realize any chance of getting a favorable ruling on any preliminary matters from a judge is not very good. If you are aware of a decent SC Attorney who wants to pick up a winnable case, have him/her contact me. I asked for attorney fees in my pleadings in case I found one. I would also pay one for a little coaching, but that doesn't seem to be available in this state.

Where in South Carolina? You have to lay a proper foundation for any evidence. The court rules and the rules of evidence can be found online. I strongly disagree with your characterization of the SC court system. The courts in SC are regularly cited in many other states.

Don't blame the system for your own failures. Even experienced attorneys make mistakes that cost them the case.

Hi Iwpat