Am I still liable for my unpaidrent?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sublm24

If anyone could give me any legal information on my situation I would really appreciate it. I live in California and hope there is a law that will help my situation.

3 Months ago my ex-roommate gave me a 6 day notice and moved out. We were signed to a one year joint lease and still had 8 months left on the lease. I notified the apartment manager immediately to voice my concern of the situation as I am a college student and could not afford to pay for the whole place. The manager suggested that it would be a good idea to find other people to take over the lease, as the next months rent approached I was only able to find someone to sign on to the lease and pay half of the rent (and he was added onto the lease as only liable for half the rent). Both me and my ex-roommate were both moved out when the new person signed on, but the management would not let me off the lease. I have been the only person to try to do anything about this situation since it all began. My roommate has done nothing, the management has done nothing, and the new person who moved in has done nothing (even though he agreed with me that he knew someone would eventually have to move in). I wrote a demand letter to the owners of the property and demanded they call me to resolve this issue and I have not heard from them yet. I have all of my efforts to find new tenants documented and want to know if there is anyway to get out of this nightmare.

Your roommate broke the lease and moved out early and you found someone to take over HIS/HER portion of the rent...but not yours when you moved out.

Why do you think you don't owe for your share of the rent?

Gail