Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Accessory of shoplifting

Kareemahmann

Jurisdiction
Georgia
yesterday my cousin got caught shoplifting and I was with her but I didn't steal anything but I got arrested and charged with the same thing she did I'm only 17.

I am a Retail theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily. You were charged because you were present likely had knowledge and did nothing to stop theft. Talk to your attorney about plea options and possible defense. Be sure to ask about ACD or Diversion to avoid criminal record

yesterday my cousin got caught shoplifting and I was with her but I didn't steal anything but I got arrested and charged with the same thing she did I'm only 17.

Plead not guilty, ask for a lawyer, tell your lawyer you're innocent, and wish to go to trial.

If you had no knowledge of the shoplifting then the offense likely won't stick.
If you have not already made incriminating statements indicating you ere aware of what was taking place then don't start now.
You at no point had any knowledge of your cousin's addicting or intent, right? RIGHT?

In order to be convicted of the offense the prosecutor will have to prove otherwise, and likely can't unless you say things you shouldn't. You need legal counsel to assist you. This is a very petty issue that is easy to resolve.

I am a Retail theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily. You were charged because you were present likely had knowledge and did nothing to stop theft. Talk to your attorney about plea options and possible defense. Be sure to ask about ACD or Diversion to avoid criminal record

Presence at the time of the shoplifting is insufficient.
It must be proven there was knowledge and intent to be an accessory.
It is not her duty to stop a theft. It raises a moral issue, but not a legal one.

Presence at the time of the shoplifting is insufficient.
It must be proven there was knowledge and intent to be an accessory.