Criminal Law 2007 arrested and convicted of drug possession/under influence/paraphenelia ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

uknative

In Jan. 2007 I was arrested for under influence/possession of controlled substance/paraphenalia ... subsequently went to court and hired counsel advised me to plead guilty to charges due to me being a green card holder. I was given PC1000 and ordered to pay fines and attend an outpatient drug class. And when I completed them and successfully complied with all court orders the charges were dismissed. My question is will this affect my current immigration status: I.e replacing a lost green card, naturalization, etc. Also will the fact that as a one time occurence, that I have not been in any trouble of any kind since that date, and that I am a veteran of the U.S. armed forces have any significance tiwards

It's possible the arrest may have some immigration consequences even though eventually dismissed. It can make a difference whether dismissed before prosecution or after completing court ordered requirements as in your case. Some immigration officers take a tough stand if they have reason to believe there is a drug history. You really need to talk to an immigration attorney in your area who can advise you of any possible problems.

Dodged the bullet there!

UKNATIVE:

PC 1000 is a very good resolution of a case like yours; especially considering that original charge at the time of arrest was a Felony, later reduced to a Misdemeanor and the fact that you did not have anything similar in your past made you eligible for it. You also had the advantage of not being a 4th Waiver during the 22 months period (4 months of PC1000 and 18 months of summary probation) and on to the final stage, which is the erasing of all traces of the incident from your permanent records, including the arrest.