16th st Illegal space rental

Status
Not open for further replies.

246W16thst

I signed a 10 year lease in 2003 NYC to rent a basement space with direct street access; I had concerns about the space being legal for a chiropractic office; the owner told me it was legal for a chiropractic office. To ease my concerns the owner had his attorney put in a rider stating that the space is approved to be used for a chiropractic office by me. I had been paying rent for 9 years. The building had a small fire in October 2012 that the fire department responded to which was followed by building inspectors. I found out a month later that the space was not zoned for a chiropractic office as the owner told me and indicated in my lease; the certificate of occupancy is for a factory and storage only. I stopped paying the monthly rent and had closed down the office early 2014. I had closed the office because I was unable to find affordable space in NYC in such a short period of time; . There was two violation given to me illegal use of the space and work with out a permit (insulation of bathroom, water waste line, erecting rear partitioned wall closing off rear exit). I did go to NYC building court for the two violations; work with out a permit charges against me was dropped as I proved that the work was not done by me. I had to pay a fine for illegal use of the premises. The owner is suing me for the 2013 and few months of 2014 rent.
1) Is there a legal precedence that prohibits the landlord collecting rent on the illegal space?
2) I did not use a broker as I saw a for rent sign outside of the building so the landlord told me and their attorney had written the space was legal for a chiropractic office which was not true; the certificate of occupancy is for a factory / storage only. What can I counter sue the landlord for?
3) Can I get money I had paid the landlord out in rent the past ten years thinking the space was legal for a chiropractic office?