Shoplifting

Melbar

Jurisdiction
Illinois
I got caught shoplifting at Kmart. They are going out business and having their final sales. The amount of the merchandise was $28. I was not arrested but a police officer did come. He wrote me a ticket (I guess you would call it) to appear at the city hall building. He said something about munciple ordinance. He said it was a civil matter and would not appear on my record. He told me I won't be arrested. What are all possibilities that could happen at the hearing? I am a nursing student and made a dumb mistake. Can if ever show up on a background check?

He said something about munciple ordinance.

Look at the ticket and tell us what city and what ordinance number is written on the ticket.

He said it was a civil matter and would not appear on my record.

Cops say a lot of things to get people to accept what is happening without an argument. They are allowed to lie.

He told me I won't be arrested.

If, by arrested, you mean taken away in handcuffs, no, but you are being prosecuted for a crime, make no mistake about that.

What are all possibilities that could happen at the hearing?

Too many possibilities to try to list, the worst of which is a conviction.

I made a dumb mistake

Common lament of people who don't think about the consequences of what they do when they do it.

Can if ever show up on a background check?

People report that anything and everything shows up on background checks these days when the whole world is connected by computers.

Can't know without the city and the ordinance number.

However, under state law it's a Class A misdemeanor that carries a penalty of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2500.

A Class A misdemeanor definitely gives you a criminal record that might prevent you from getting a nursing license.

In addition to criminal prosecution you may also end up getting a civil demand from the store to pay X dollars.