Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft shoplifing $40 ..please help

jjj3443

Jurisdiction
California
I was charged with petty theft at a big retail store. They took me to a room and I signed civil demand form. The item value is $40. They called a police and I got a citation with court date. I have clean record and this is my first charge. Is it possible to have a case dismiss? I'm think about using a lawyer but I dont have much money. Do I need a lawyer to get best outcome for me? How much would they charge for a case like this?

I'm also in a job searching process and they do criminal background check. Will the charge show up and prevent me from getting an offer? (if they check before court date)

Search this and other forums.
All of your questions have been asked and answered thousands of times.

I am a Retail Theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily. You are best served by using a Lawyer in your case. When you meet this Lawyer ask about ACD or Diversion to protect your record. CRB can vary which is why Diversion or the like is so important. If your seeking employment in retail then you also need to be concerned if the store you stole from uses a Retail Theft database

Orange county,CA
I got a citation to be in court for petty theft next week for sn arriangement. The value of item is $35 amd it happened at big retail store. I have a job and probably not qualify for Public defendent. I talked with private attorneys on the phone and they all said they can get a case dismissed with me give dna sample and donation. I have lot of debt and cant afford to hire them.

My question are
1.at what point prpsecutor would give out that kind of offer?
2. What should I do at arraingment without having this on my records?
3. Can all of thse be done in a day or I need other court dates?
I have clean record and this is my first time in court.

A donation? Exactly what kind of donation are you referring to?