New HR Manager - attendance/medical history

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctanke

Hi,

I've been working at the same company for about the past 14 years. When I started with the company it was known that I suffer from severe migraines and also have siezures, due to a brain ingury I suffered when I was 18. I was on serveral different medications for it, but had to stop taking them due to how they affected my ability to function. My company allows for 2 weeks of sick time per year, plus vacation time. I typically use up all of my sick time (not always for migraines) each year and if needed have always been allowed to use vacation time in place of sick time. This hasn't just applied to me, but also applies to other people in the office. We have gone through several Human Resourse Managers and I've never had this be an issue with any of them. It is documented in my file that I was out on disability for over 2 months back in 2006 due to kidney failure that resulted after having 3 grand mal seizures. I try my best not to let this interfear with my work and am very lucky that up until now have had an HR Manager that has worked with me. I have never been written up for my attendance. We recentely got a new HR Manager that has threatened me with being fired over using my sick time. When I explained the situation to her she baically told me my medical history doesn't matter and that she knows what the laws are. Since we discussed this, more things have happened that make me feel as if I'm being discriminated agains. I have always been taught by every company that I've worked for to be at my desk ready to work by the time my work day is due to start. I typcially come in about 10 minuted before my start time to make sure I'm ready to go. I know that I don't get paid for being at work 10 minutes early and none of our past HR Managers had any problems with me doing this. I was just informed by the HR Manager today that I am breaking the law by doing this and she made me