Hidden camera

Fed2016

Jurisdiction
US Federal Law
I work as a federal employee with military people. My boss is a Navy senior chief.

This guy has harassed me and threatened my job multiple times. I believe he broke into my locked desk as well. I ve taken this up through his chain of command and they have done nothing. Finally I may or may not have placed a hidden camera on my desk sound and video for evidence. I filed an EO complaint and at the last minute pulled the complaint as the command found out about the complaint somehow. I thought instead of the command getting into trouble I'll give them one last chance to help the situation and pulled the complaint. The very next day the command locked everyone out of our office space and stated they were starting a preliminary investigation into me violating their security policy. I have been advised not to say anything by a criminal attorney. The office has been locked for a week and then I was called and told they were confiscating the hidden camera.

How much trouble am I in? If they would have handled the hostile work environment I would not have had to resort to these methods.

Since you have an attorney, you need to discuss with him/her. There is no way for us to know what will happen.

I know there is no way to know however What laws if any are broken?
I only consulted with an attorney. I don't have one.

What are the criminal consequences for me? Is this a policy thing. A have been an employee for four years.

I know there is no way to know however What laws if any are broken?
I only consulted with an attorney. I don't have one.

What are the criminal consequences for me? Is this a policy thing. A have been an employee for four years.

You may have stumbled into the paranoia of the terrorists are everywhere. The hidden camera is probably seen as some sort of voyeurism, invasion of privacy, or spying.

Nothing to do but wait it out.