Boss gave away my job while I was on vacation.

jlbost3

Jurisdiction
North Carolina
I work at an HVAC company in North Carolina. I started out doing install for one year and moved to office manager because the current one retired and installing HVAC is bad for my sciatica. Another year passed and I went on my honeymoon for two weeks using my paid vacation time. When I returned from my vacation the boss had hired someone else to manage the office and he wants me to go back and work in the field. I graduated from college with a bachelor of science in business administration and that is ultimately what I am working towards as a career. He didn't technically fire me but is he allowed to just give my position to someone else like that legally?

You have a bachelor's degree why not start your own HVAC business and you run it? That way you can hire your own office manager and HVAC tech team and tell them what is going to happen. I'm afraid that you are going to find the job market for such degrees significantly lacking and very competitive.

The business world is one of who you know not what you know. However, business degrees do have value to making successful business owners and entrepreneurs.

Good Luck.

The business world is one of who you know not what you know.

It's a mix of both. If you don't at least know the minimum knowledge needed for the job then in most well run businesses you wouldn't be hired even if a close buddy worked there in a position of influence. The exception is when the buddy is the owner of the business. Sometimes they'll hire a useless friend just because of the friendship, but the owner pays a lot for that.

Another year passed and I went on my honeymoon for two weeks using my paid vacation time. When I returned from my vacation the boss had hired someone else to manage the office and he wants me to go back and work in the field.