Check Bounced offered to pay refused now want 11x the amount

Status
Not open for further replies.

why_

This will be long but I will try to get all relevant information into this one post so that a good idea of what is going on can be mentioned.

Back almost a year ago we allowed a couple to move into our house. My wife and the female because they were not married agreed on $350 dollar rent which included utilities and split food down the middle. However I felt that was low and me and the male friend sat down and he told me that he thought that was too low and wanted to raise it to 500 I agree'd we shook hands and that was the end of it. So there is the first agreement.

During the course of this I was a long distance truck driver and gone sunday night - friday evening. Basically I would be home 36 hours for the most part. My wife and the female went to the store of something of that nature and got groceries. My wife wrote this female a check for 59 dollars with plenty of money to cover the check. 2 weeks later I got screwed by the trucking company that I was working for so I was stuck in Indiana and I asked my wife to come get me. My wife told this unnamed female hold the check till after we get back and I could give her cash. She was told the check was not good because it was going to cost my wife 300 to 400 dollars to drive to indiana and get me. This female said "Okay".

2 months later they come up one sunday morning to my office and let us know they are moving out right now and that the check that was written bounced. (At this point I did not even know there was a check). I said I am sorry and I will pay the check plus the merchant/bank fees so 59.00 + 30 + 25 max. She said okay and they moved out now they moved out and had not paid rent one yet. So no rent, no utilities at this time had been paid by them. They had contributed to the grocery.