Registered in OK, suspended in TX.

Status
Not open for further replies.

higdon

Hi, I just found this forum and would like to see if anyone could shed some light for me.

I was pulled over about a year ago for Racing on a Highway. I pleaded guilty and recieved a fine and a 1 year suspension, which requries 10 hours of community servie to reinstate. I payed the fine and then deployed to Iraq for a year without doing the community service. The time frame was just too short. I will be returning soon and would like to know if it is still possible for me to at least get insure and tags, in Oklahoma where I am a legal resident, so that it can be inspected and allowed on post back in Texas. The car does is currently "under construction" so to speak so I do not plan on driving with a suspended license. I suppose my question is, if I'm suspended in Texas, is my Oklahoma license suspended in Oklahoma as well? I am also aware of having to file an SR-22 no matter what state I'm registered in.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is important because I must move the vehicle to Texas at the same time that I return, so completing my obligation to community service cannot be completed prior.

Thank you in advance!

-Dan

In case these are needed, they are the Statutory Authrities posted on my Order of Prohibition:

Texas Transportation Code, Section 521-350
Texas Transportation Code, Section 601

Suspended, is suspended is suspended, i do beleive, as i have read in several other posts that you have on dl and it gets suspended, no matter what state you drive in it is suspended there too,

Texas Suspension