Criminal Law Misdemeanor+out of status!!please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hilily

I was an F-1 student and this year my ex-girl-friend charged me into the civil court and the judge gave me a PFA, because of which my school evicted me. I was told that I could not register for the fall semester starting on late August. At late July, I got the admission from another institute and I transfered out my record from SEVIS and got the new I-20. However, just before I planned to move to another city, the girl again, charged me into the criminal court for exactly the same reasons: "stalking", "harassment", "disordered behaviors",etc, which led to 7 days in jail because I don't have the money for the bail bond. In the prelimenary hearing, I was advised by my lawyer to "plea guilty" to "stalking" charge and the DA would drop all the others against me. And I was told that I didn't need to serve further in jail. The pre-trial will be held this month. But now, the nightmare didn't end since last month I was notified by the new school that they cancelled my I-20 because "someone" from my previous school let them know my case. Later I knew that my record was sent back to the previous school and they terminated it, without any notice. So now I got out of status.

What should I do now? I can't just leave this country, coz I have to attend the trial. Could I be arrested by the immigration police just after the trial? I was very worried! Please help!

sorry about your situation,
i am not sure about your school thing, but you may have problems with immigration in future if you decide to immigrate, IF you plead guilty.
ask public defender about other options to dismiss the case without you pleading guilty.
good luck!