assaulted by coworker on the job

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnG

Banned
I'm a nurse and work at a local hospital. A couple of days ago a coworker assaulted me in a patient's bathroom because she overheard me talking to another nurse about a bizarre incident that occurred with the coworker. I can explain if necessary but essentially, the other nurse and I were whispering and she burst in and began threatening to harm me, pointing her finger in my face and slapping it away when I raised my hand to protect my eyes, grabbing me by the arm and forcing me against the wall where I was trapped. She continually said "just give me a reason to kick your ass, go on and touch me so I can kick your ass" and the like. I was only able to stand there and wait for her to stop because if I tried to defend myself or even get past her to escape, she would have pummeled me, per her threats. I know she was trying to get me to touch her so she could have "grounds" to hit me and I felt fairly sure she wouldn't hit me but of course I was scared out of my mind and felt like an animal was about to attack. I was imagining horrible things she might do and two days later, I am still feeling freaked out, and panicked at the idea of working with her. I had the first anxiety attack of my life last night and had to call off work for today because I am filled with fear.