Coach getting harrassed and bullied by a parent and the school isn't doing anything!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BPrattico

I'm a high school baseball coach and for over the last month-two parents are making complaints to the school that are untrue-Their sons who play for me are telling them every move I make- Then they call the school and complain- I've already caught them in a number of lies and told the school- The school continues to believe them and refuses to ask any of my players or any other parents if the complaints are valid. The school has threatening to fire my assistant coach and he did nothing wrong. One of the fathers talks at the game to anyone who will listen and badmouth me- I asked the school to seek the truth and they haven't. I also told them that we are being bullied and retaliated against because his son is not playing the position he want too. Can i file a harassment claim against the school and the parents? I can't take it anymore-

OP, you can file a claim against anyone you wish.

But, those parents are voters and taxpayers.

You might be better off to resign as coach, or discuss your options with your athletic director or principal.

I've found it better in life to negotiate, and avoid lawsuits and other quarrelsome matters.

Wow! How long have you been coaching, OP? Every coach of high school players will almost inevitably face a parent who does not agree with how the coach handles his or her son (or daughter).

While such parents can undoubtedly be a pain in the behind, you do not have a legal basis for precluding them from complaining to school administrators and/or criticizing you in the stands during the games. Even assuming you are covered under a civil service protection system and/or a union contract, neither protection will shield you from this type of criticism. At bottom, based on your post, you cannot file a harassment complaint because two parents "badmouth" you as a baseball manager.