Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft First time offender in MS? What To expect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hello1234

Please don't yell at me, I know what I did was wrong and I feel crappy enough about it. I stole about $30 of cosmetics and I was with my mom. She was unaware of it. I'm 16 and they called the cops. The man said I may or may not receive a civil demand letter, which I'm hoping that I won't. (but I most likely will). The cops let me go with my parents and told me that there will be a letter sent home in a month about family court or my court date. So what do I have to do? I know the classes will cost a lot, so I'd rather do community service and that the lawyer fees will be a lot too. I'm paying for all of this with my own money because I don't want my parents to have to do it. I just want to know what to expect because its my first time & I'll never do it again. Will I have a criminal record? one girl told me they that didn't put it on her record since she did the community service and that she was a first time offender also. I'm really scared and nervous. Any past experience will help too.

Its unlikley you will have the option to take community service or classes. The cost of an Attorney will vary however many offer free consultations so I suggest you get as many as possible to you can have a good knowledge of your legal optins like diversion to protect your record. You might also consider enrolling and completing an anti-shoplifting course.

Well they haven't sent any letters about the class yet, so I can't register because you need the code to do so. Its just that this happened so close to the holidays, so I know everyone is backed up and I'm turning 17 in a month, will that affect the severity of the punishment? or will they just punish me based on the age I was when I committed the crime?