College and Religion Chapel requirement credit for graduate

Status
Not open for further replies.

salima

I'm a foreigner studying in South Korea. I'm studying an undergraduate program in a well-known University. One of the REQUIREMENTS to graduate is to COMPLETE four semesters' CHAPEL LESSONS. I didn't want to sue them but I think there's any alternative option.

I would like to emphasize that chapel lessons are conducted in Korean and I'm not fluent in that language. I've tried for two semesters to get a solution for that. I expressed my own rights as an Atheist person. That attending to Chapel is a waste of time and knowledge. Instead of going to Chapel I could have extra Korean lessons. However, their solution was:

-Attend to Chapel 5 times (conducted in Korean) + 3 Global worship on Sunday (conducted in English-Korean) + Commentary of a religious article.
Today I got an email from Chapel office "You haven't pass Chapel". I didn't complete the 8 Chapels due the announcements of Chapel are in Korean in some website and I can't get the information. I emailed them for a solution and they said I have to do it again.

In my defense I'd like to clarify that during the worship I've been push to pray in loud voice towards to those that were pushed to attend the worship (I'm not the only one having that problem. Those who were in the same circumstances as me were pushed by the professors in order to pass the course!). Also, the worship was on Sundays and that's non-scholar day. The article response was to write about what I've learned through the Christianity moral and I must said that I felt a bit insulted at reading the article.

I'd like to add another thing. The access of information in the Campus and websites are not adequate for a University in which has graduate students (full course conducted in English), undergraduate students which the program is full conducted in English (my case) and exchange students.