How to initiate action- copyright infringment? Coffee table book with my pictures

Status
Not open for further replies.

angelat

I will try this again - but it's irksome that new threads don't seem to get posted here.. especially after spending so much time on them!

I am a commercial photographer (more in the past than now) but have just come across a coffee table book with my images published in them. The works were originally licensed and shot for a very well known los angeles architect. They were supplied with a document explaining the rights of usage - which did NOT include publishing by third parties.

Not only were the reproductions of the works unauthorized - but the more bothersome problem for me, is that they were of very poor quality - making my work look terrible (!). This is one of the primary reasons that I insist that third party reproductions are under my control - so I can ensure that high quality reproductions are made.

At any rate - I'm not sure whether to approach my client or the third party (publisher) about this - or if the case would be worth consulting a lawyer for(??). I'd love it if someone could tell me what best practices are regarding this issue... six of my pictures were used in the book.

Thanks... hope that's enough info

Contact the one who actually published the book. Yow want to send a letter demanding they stop the publishing. They may not have gotten permission of any kind from your client. Just be careful and don't say that you WILL sue but rather you MAY excercise your rights to legal action of they don't stop.

thanks for that initial response. Well there's no cease and desist about it. The quarter million or whatever copies that were already printed - were printed five or six years ago. I think damages for copyright violation and mishandling original works would be in order...(?)