Injury At Work

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebirth5450

Hello,

You have all given me good information in the past but I only have bad news tonight I guess and I hope you can give me some good advice.

Ok so this is how it went down.

I was a Manager at a WalMart store of which I quit a week later after this incident.

I managed the front end or the registers and the cashiers involved in those positions.

An associate came up to me one day explaining of pain in their arm and that this person did not know what to do about it. Because of constant injuries at our store, I tried to be pro-active. I called an Assistant Manager and said what should we do, they said go to the pharmacy, Store Use a brace, and then put them as a door greeter for the rest of the night. I did all these things and complied.

The Assistant Managers are on a rotation which means they work 3 days, then have 3 days off. So the next day it was a new rotation for Assistant Managers. I was called to a register, a belt, not an express, and the associate said to me verbatim "Patrick, I can't do this I need to be moved to an express" where of course there are fewer items and less heavy one's most likely.

I said hold on, but turned the associates light off, signaling the register lane was now closed. I called an Assistant Manager and told them I was sending an associate back to see them.

I run about 70 associates at any given time, or I did before I quit, which they are calling a termination. 15 minutes later I noticed that same associate was back on a belt register, with no notification from my management if they were ok to work and not get injured.

So I called my manager and said what is going on, why is this person on a register and this manager told me that "they said they were fine and ok to work". I was thinking this is a complete lie.

The very next day the associate got injured, and within a week I decided to quit.