Lease with nothing specified about guest

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crimsonsred

Well to be honest I think my landlord is a bit greedy and I am a college student and an army vet so I know when I am getting screwed.

Alright so here is my problem. My girlfriend wants to move in with me but in the contract there is a 150 dollar fee the Landlord can charge which it sounded like the manager reluctantly got me a discount by talking to him but only if I paid in full and paid for 2 months outside my contract as well as leased for another year.

I have prepaid a full year at 380 a month due to a discount I recieved to pay for that full year the normal being 400. If I were to have started this contract with my girlfriend it would have been 450 discounted for the year. If I have her move in 6 months into the lease I am being charged tripple for what it normally would have cost her as she would have only paid 50 dollars and what ever discount it would be.

After reading the contract over many times, it seems as I have all the bargaining chips.

No where in my lease does it state how many guests I can have or any certain amount of time they can stay there. It only states that there can only be one person that occupies the premises.

My girlfriend lives legally an hour away. Therefore her staying over a couple weeks here and there should not be in violation of my lease nor should an extended amount of time be in violation of the lease as long as she legally lives at her other residence and she even plans to work mainly around the place where she legally resides.

I have always been a very law abiding citizen and was honest with the manager about my girlfriend possibly moving in. But because of the landlords greed and lack of a solid lease I see no problem in letting her stay over when ever she wants to.

My question is, is this technically legal as there is no common law on guests at an apartment complex?