Teacher put on administrative leave due to phone usage

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia320

I have been a teacher for 10 years and have never seen or heard of this before. I have recently been put on administrative leave for too many phone calls out and into my office phone over a period of 2 months. I was asked to resign due to too many calls, and I was never offered union representation nor legal representation when I was spoken to by the principal and the superintendent of human resources. I also had never been told the rules of the district phone system and was unaware that every time I made a call it was to 10 cents per call. This is just an overview, and I will now describe what happened in detail.

I taught fifth grade in a different state for 8 years and just moved to this state in August of 2007. I acquired a job teaching ESL to elementary school students K-6. I do not have tenure as of yet, because it takes 3 years in this school district to become tenured. Anyway, I piloted a program this year for my students that were newcomers in order for them to learn English more effectively, and it was accepted and embraced by the school district. Let me begin by saying that my husband and I do not have cell phones, so we communicate through our office phones usually during our lunches and breaks during the day. Most of those times they are just messages left on each others voice mail. We had some extreme circumstances hit us in January and we had to leave messages for each other more than normal between the months of January and March. Also, my phone in my office has always rung during the daytime, and if I were in there I would of course answer it. I was unaware that the phone was not supposed to ring because nobody ever told me that it wasn't.