Rented a room...just a room.

Status
Not open for further replies.

auchick77

My jurisdiction is: Alabama

Hi,

I am a teacher in Alabama and last August moved in to a house that a colleague of mine was renting. She had one extra bedroom and a dining room that could be converted into a bedroom. It seemed like the ideal way to save money at the time. She was listed on the lease, and I moved into the house. I did not sign a lease or a roommate agreement of any kind. She asked me to pay $400/month to stay with her which I did by check each month.

I got behind on my rent due to a personal situation involving someone who completely drained my bank account. I was in the process of paying this amount back to my roommate when she tells me that her parents want me to move out of the house. They do not own the house or even live in the same state, but she told them she would ask me to move out. She told me I needed to move by a text message that said, "I love you to death as a friend, but as of Sunday, we need 2 part ways as roommates". I got that message on the Friday night, around 11pm, before she expected me to be out! It was a scramble, but I was able to secure a place to stay (thanks to a great friend who I think of as family), get my personal belongings out of the house, return the key, and clean up the room I stayed in before I left.

I still owe her $700 to catch up the rent that I owed her, but I do not have the money to pay her right now. She knows that I don't. I have asked her to allow me to pay her on May 1st when I get have the money, but she will not budge. Says that if I do NOT pay her by Thursday, in full in a sealed envelope with her name on it, she will file charges and take me to court.